Tip: How to migrate Google Photos images between accounts

TL;DR: Use shared albums to migrate without downloading/uploading.

There’s no one-click way to move images from one account to another. In the past I’d suggest the following:

  1. Browse to photos.google.com in Account 1.
  2. Select the first photo.
  3. Scroll scroll scroll to the end.
  4. Shift-click last photo.
  5. Click “Download.”
  6. Browse to photos.google.com in Account 2.
  7. Drag all the downloaded images into Account 2 to upload them.

That works, but here’s a better way:

  1. Browse to photos.google.com in Account 1.
  2. Create a new album.
  3. Add up to 2000 photos.
  4. Invite Account 2 to the album.
  5. Browse to photos.google.com in Account 2.
  6. Select all photos.
  7. Choose to add to account.

 The big advantage is that you don’t have to download, then re-upload everything. Slightly nerdy details:

  • Make sure that Account 1 isn’t set to remove geo info when sharing.
  • Make sure that upload quality for Account 2 is set to “Original.”
  • Any edits you make in Account 1 (cropping, etc.) are baked into pixels when adding images to Account 2.

3 thoughts on “Tip: How to migrate Google Photos images between accounts

    1. It sounds like you’re running into a problem with the auto uploader, not with a data cap. I’ve asked the team to investigate.

  1. What if you want to MOVE the photos. The MOVE function in a Windows sense cuts the items from one account and moves them to another.

    So basically I want to delete the photos and all linkage, metadata, etc. from Account 1 and make Account 2 the only location with those photos. I do want to keep all of the “hidden” information about the photos such as date taken, device used, etc.

    Can that be done?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *